I prepare for Battle. Do I stand Alone?

 

 

 

 

IMG_1050

As you know, this Blog is not liked by the Good Old Boys at City hall from time to time they or their pals leave posts, that I delete.

The worst ones as in obscene  comments are left I simply delete them and go on.

I am more worried by

communication from the City Attorney recommending Council consideration of a press pass policy.

 

Requester: City Attorney’s Office

No one I have talked to has seen what this might mean, or why now vs say 5 years or 10 years ago

I do I fully believe that the Mayor of the City of Racine hates the idea of me sitting at the Press Table  I know Alderman McCarthy is not a fan

IMG_1048

At least he knows the the city will need a written policy before they can try to kick me out of the media area.

As I stated at the last Common Council Good luck with that.   That could easy turn into a court fight in Federal Court Can you just see the headline ” City of Racine Attacks Freedom of the Press”

Even should I get help from say ACLU or other groups this would still cost money.

I expect to be sued as part of this effort to shut me up, I can even see an Alderman claiming that he feels unsafe when I am around. This effort of The Good Old Boys will get bad real fast.

IIMHO  this effort of the City’s will begin a crackdown on all media that is not under direct control of the City (Belle City TV) or the thralls of the City  (Journal Times). This effort by the Mayor of Racine will try as I see it to stop taping of public meetings outside of Belle City TV)  and delaying as long as possible the filling of Open Records requests.

So the effort I must try to do is to get some type of War Chest to help cover my costs.

You will see a page on the blog for exactly that  .

I hope I can count on you for your help.

Once They are done with me it will be your turn

FS

4 Responses to I prepare for Battle. Do I stand Alone?

  1. Kate Remington says:

    you are a living human symbol now of resident issues. You are supposed to be swept under the rug and you are you yourselfWayne with a press passso you are feared and reviled and unwelcome. Stay exactly where you are and hold your ground exactly like you have because you are effective and yes it is a serious issue to threaten you like they are but we all know they are bullies..and thugs and may indeed stoop to making records disappear.

    The news in this town is already shut down and is really being monitored and it appears rewritten, revised and reissued if not simply buried or flatout deleted and flatlined out of the mainstream press and maybe poofed out of the city’s records or the county’s or both depending on the matter.

    I witness to your curiosity and persistence for as long as I have lived here (14 plus years). I know you love the Racine geography and the rich land itself for what it is and who is here, was here and even those of us stuck here… I believe Racine needs an independent local press if Racine is going to survive the intensity of the political corruption today.

    ________________________________

    • Thank you for the kind words. I have seen what the Good Old Boys have done to others, I can expect the same. As I hope that groups like the ACLU would be of help I am unsure of that. My Editor tells me that they (the Newspaper) has my back.
      I know I will need a War Chest to protect myself.

  2. Tammy Kilborn says:

    The reason this city does not have a press credential policy is because, THERE IS NO PRESS CREDENTIAL LAW!! What the City Of Racine is attempting to do is to pick and choose who can cover their media, this is an absoulte violation of the First Ammendment, “The First Amendment of the United States Constitution protects the right to freedom of religion and freedom of expression from government interference. See U.S. Const. amend. I. Freedom of expression consists of the rights to freedom of speech, press, assembly and to petition the government for a redress of grievances, and the implied rights of association and belief.” They are attempting to eliminate anyone they do not agree with, this is the most obscene and unbelieveable piece of work by Dickert, Freidel and Helding yet, do the research, cities do NOT pick and choose who can cover news and who cannot, the only exception would be crossing of police lines on say a murder scene or the scene of an accident or crime. It’s highly recommended that you contact the civil rights attorneys now and alert them to what the city of racine is attempting to do, they are complete idiots and will be violating federal law.

    • That’s the plan contacting the ACLU and other groups. I feel that I will need a lawyer IMHO to protect me and the “attack” I see coming that’s why I am doing the fundraising

Leave a Reply

